Boy Eats Girl…Figuratively

Posted: December 11, 2010 by nico613 in Uncategorized

Title of Post: WHY MEN ARE SO DAMN COOL AND WE KNOW IT

 

I.                    Topic

The post talks about “known” reasons why men are supposedly cool. The post consists of reasons differentiating the men and the women with the women entirely receiving the negative comments. I also wanted it to be fun at the same time to generate interest among the populace.

I wanted to post a sexist post to illicit comments from the opposite sex, which in this case: women. I wanted them to voice out their opinions on equality and gender empowerment.

II.                  Initial Conditions

I have accounts in Facebook and Twitter only, with the latter created only recently.

Currently, I have 700 friends on Facebook and 13 followers on Twitter

I only check my Facebook account only to check for notifications, messages, and friend requests. Personally, I am not a great fan of networking sites thus I only check my accounts only 4-5 times a week.

III.                Strategies Employed

The first strategy I thought of was a topic that could generate interest among the social community. With the ever increasing demand for gender equality and women empowerment, I looked for a post that may ignite women’s thousand-year old fight for equality.

Another strategy is sharing the post with all my Facebook friends and asking them to like, share and comment.

However, the best strategy for me was chatting each of my friends online and telling them to like and comment while giving them the link.

IV.                New Contact/Friend

Since I had a greater chance of generating comments with a social network where I have the most connections, I chose to focus on Facebook instead of Twitter. Still, I now have a following of 13 individuals in my Twitter account and 10 friend requests in Facebook during the duration of the activity.

V.                  Summary of Results

Likes Comments
 

24

 

17

VI.                Conclusion and Insights

Now, I have a greater understanding on how social networking works. It requires a topic that would generate and pique everyone’s interest, either from the title or the content itself, a fairly large group of friends that could share it to their other connections and the way social networking is a feat that we, as humans, should be proud of.

I also learned that most of the people are more interested with looking at images than reading long posts. Consequently, I forgot to tag people as a strategy since it would’ve had an effect to the number of likes and comments. Nevertheless, I learned a lot from this activity as well as the power of networking sites such as Facebook.

VII.              Recommendation

I recommend a more interesting topic and to frequent the amount of asking friends to like, share, and comment. Furthermore, I also recommend the use of other networking sites to improve the results of the activity

VIII.            References

http://www.facebook.com/notes.php?id=575008569&notes_tab=app_2347471856#!/note.php?note_id=472013326568

http://www.baconbabble.com/index.php/2010/02/15/why-men-are-so-damn-cool-and-we-know-it/

http://www.simplyzesty.com/facebook/7-simple-ways-increase-interaction-facebook-fan-page/

http://kylelacy.com/5-engaging-ways-to-increase-your-likes-on-facebook/

 

Leave a comment